Oranges, Mixed-Media Girls, and Fairies

I am orange challenged. Or so my hubby tells me. I love eating oranges, but I hate peeling them…when I peel an orange, it turns into a pulpy, mushy, mutilated mess. My hubby? Yes, every orange he has ever peeled in his life is perfect. I have orange issues. I’m accepting that. What does this have to do with art? Absolutely nothing.

On Thursday the USPS guy dropped off my Suzi Blu book, Mixed-Media Girls. I’m officially in love with my USPS guy…he’s old, has grey hair and looks like he’s in his 70’s, but I don’t care…he gives me beautiful things. OH MY GOODNESS this book is fabulous. The pictures are bright and detailed and the step-by-step techniques are amazing.

I want to live in this book it’s so beautiful…a mixed-media girl living in a magical painting. If you are a mixed-media artist…this is an AWESOME resource!

Yesterday I received my latest shipment of art supplies from Dick Blick…after waiting a week and half for them to get here (seemed like FOREVER). BUT, I’m not complaining, because it was worth the wait. I have my shiny new Prismacolor pencils all sharpened and ready to go, and I even made a few new notches in my fabric pencil holder I designed earlier this year.

I’m happy pappy and can’t wait to get going on my fairy faces from Suzi Blu’s Fairy class.

I’m currently learning how to sketch fairy bodies and thought I’d share. Sure, they are not perfect, but I’m okay with that. I’m learning things don’t have to be perfect when you’re sketching. Pencil is not permanent. The proportions of these may not be right, but I’m learning to embrace the process…the best lessons I’ve learned in sketching are from my own mistakes.

Coming soon – my first mixed-media Fairy painting! I can’t wait to get started! Stay tuned!

6 thoughts on “Oranges, Mixed-Media Girls, and Fairies

  1. I love my UPS guy too. He’s always bringing me presents! But he hasn’t brought my Suzi book yet. Hopefully by Tuesday. I can’t wait. I love the little fairy sitting on the mushroom in your journal. I think mushrooms are so interesting. We get lots of different kinds on the Washington Coast and I love watching them pop up. I saw a really cool mushroom painting yesterday on deviant art. Let me try to post a link to it.
    http://gloom82.deviantart.com/#/d4vb3jr
    Talk to you soon.
    Lyrical Letha

  2. I too am finding the urge to create these wonderful art dolls and fairies…I am waiting on my Suzi Blue book too from my UPS guy! lol :c)
    I love your drawings..and want to start art journaling myself…
    Suzi is pretty amazing…I’m tempted to take the fairy class she is doing…this would be my first.
    I love your blog…

  3. Your pictures are wonderful. Kudos to you for starting a blog about your creative journey. I’m thinking of doing the same but need to do the same type of juggling act. Looking forward to seeing your fairy picture.

    • Thank you, Leah, for your kind words! It is a challenge juggling everything, but I figured that it’s better to try and fail, then to never try at all. 😉 Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

